October 2, 2022

Air Marshal V. R. Chaudhari appointed Chief of the Air Staff

New Delhi, Air Marshal V R Chaudhari has been appointed as next Chief of the Air Staff (CAS), a Ministry of Defence press statement said on September 21. He is presently 45th Vice Chief of the Air Staff (VCAS).

He succeeds Air Chief Marshal RKS Bhadauria, PVSM, AVSM, VM, ADC who superannuates on September 30.

Air Marshal Chaudhari was commissioned into the Fighter stream of Indian Air Force on December 29, 1982 and has held various Command, Staff and Instructional Appointments at various levels including the present as Vice Chief of Air Staff.

He has earlier served as the Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief (AOC-in-C) of the Western Air Command (WAC). Air Marshal Chaudhari is an alumnus of National Defence Academy (NDA), and is also a graduate of Defence Services Staff College (DSSC), Wellington.

Air Marshal Chaudhari is a qualified flight instructor, and Instrument Rating Instructor and examiner. He has a flying experience of over 3,800 hours on various fighter aircraft including MiG-21, MiG-23MF, MiG-29 and Su-30MKI.

He has held various field positions including commanding a MiG-29 Squadron, commanding a forward base, and later commanding Air Force Station Pune. The Air Officer has served as an instructor at DSSC Wellington as well as DSCSC at Lusaka, Zambia.

He has held the position of chief operations officer at Air Force Station Srinagar. His other appointments include Deputy Commandant at Dundigal Air Force Academy, and Assistant Chief of Air Staff (ACAS) Operations (Air Defence).

Air Marshal Chaudhari served as Assistant Chief of Air Staff (Personnel Officers) and later as Deputy Chief of Air Staff (DCAS) at air headquarters, Vayu Sena Bhawan in New Delhi. He also served as Senior Air Staff Officer at Eastern Air Command from October 2019 to July 2020.

The Air Marshal will become India’s 27th Chief of the Air Staff. During his career, Chaudhari has been awarded the Vayu Sena Medal in 2004, the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal in 2015 and the Param Vishisht Seva Medal in 2021 for his service.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us on Social Media