September 27, 2022

India, Indonesia review bilateral relationship under Comprehensive Strategic Partnership framework

Sixth India-Indonesia Foreign Office Consultations held

New Delhi, Sixth round of Foreign Office Consultations (FOC) between India and Indonesia was held on June 25 through virtual mode in which both sides reviewed the entire gamut of bilateral relationship under the framework of Comprehensive Strategic Partnership. Cooperation in diverse areas – including political, defence, security and strategic, economic and cultural, were discussed.

They also exchanged views on ways to further promote people-to-people contact, and strengthen their Shared Vision of Maritime Co-operation in the Indo-Pacific.

The Indian delegation was led by Secretary (East) in the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) Riva Ganguly Das while the Indonesian side was led by Director General for Asia Pacific and Africa in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) Abdul Kadir Jailani, The previous round of consultations took place on January 22, 2019 at Yogyakarta, Indonesia.

The two sides exchanged views on regional and international issues of mutual interest. This included strengthening cooperation between Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and India, the Indo-Pacific Oceans Initiative (IPOI), multilateral cooperation, International Solar Alliance (ISA) and Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI).

The talks were held in a friendly and cordial atmosphere. Both sides agreed to hold the next consultations at a mutually convenient date.

India and Indonesia established their diplomatic relations in 1951. Being neighbours, India’s Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime border with Indonesia along the Andaman Sea. India has an embassy in the Indonesian capital city of Jakarta and the same way Indonesia operates an embassy in New Delhi. India regards Indonesia as a key member of ASEAN. The two countries have significant bilateral trade.

India and Indonesia are among the largest democracies in the world. Both are member states of G-20, E7 (countries), the Non-aligned Movement, and the United Nations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us on Social Media